Oregon Sick Leave Policy
Please see the Oregon BOLI notice in addition to the following policy, their notice is availible here.
Personnel Source provides its employees with paid sick leave pursuant to Oregon law. In the event of any conflict between this policy and applicable law, the law will be followed.
Employees are entitled to accrue and use up to 40 hours of paid sick leave each year. The employee will accrue eligible hours in accordance with current statute (one hour for every 30 hours worked). Accrued sick leave hours will not be allowable until the employee has been employed at least 90 days.
Each employee will be provided a written accounting at least quarterly of the amount of unused leave time available.
Under Oregon’s paid sick leave law:
Paid time off may be used for the following reasons:
(a) An employee's mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; need for medical diagnosis, care or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; or need for preventative medical care.
(b) Care of a family member with mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; care for a family member who needs medical diagnosis, care or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; or care of a family member who needs for preventative medical care.
(c) Leave pursuant Oregon’s statutorily protected domestic violence leave.
(d) Any purpose permitted under the Oregon Family Leave Act.
(e) When the Company or an employee's child's school (or place of care), closes for a public health emergency.
(f) When an employee or family member is determined to be a risk to the health of others, and requires assistance.
(g) When law requires an employer to exclude an employee from work for health reasons.
For purposes of sick leave, “family member” is defined to include any of the following persons in relation to the employee:
(a) spouse or domestic partner
(b) biological, adoptive, or foster parent
(c) biological, adoptive, step child, foster child or child of domestic partner
(d) grandparent or grandchild; (d) parent-in-law
(e) person with whom the employee was or is in a relationship of in loco parentis.
Use of Paid Sick Time
Paid sick time may be taken in increments of no less than one hour.
When using sick time, employees will be paid at the rate the employee would have earned had they not been absent.
Unused paid sick time will carry over from one year to the next as minimally required by current statute. The maximum amount of accrued sick time will be limited to the minimum allowed by current statute. Unused sick time is NOT paid to the employee upon termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation of employment. If an employee separates from employment with the Company (whether voluntarily or involuntarily), and is re-hired by the Company within 180 days, any previously accrued and unused sick leave will be reinstated and be made available for use as soon as the employee's combined total of days of employment with the employer exceeds 90 calendar days.
Employees must make reasonable efforts to schedule planned sick leave in a manner that does not unduly disrupt operations and should attempt not to schedule leave during peak work hours, when work is time-sensitive, or when mandatory meetings are scheduled. If the need to use sick time is foreseeable, the employee must give 10 days advance notice of employee’s intention to use sick time.
When the need to use sick time is unforeseeable, the employee shall provide notice as soon as practicable and must comply generally with the employer’s procedural requirements for requesting or reporting other time off.
Additional Hours or Shifts
A client or Personnel Source may offer an employee who called in sick additional hours or shifts that the employee may not normally be scheduled to work in a week the employee called in sick. Any of these hours or shifts the employee agrees to work will compensate for hours or shifts during which the employee was absent from work without using, or being paid for, accrued sick time for the hours or shifts missed.
A statement of the employee’s sick time accrual, use and balance will be provided in the payroll statement provided to employees on pay day.